Life Without Baby

Filling the silence in the motherhood discussion

Whiny Wednesday: [Bleep]ing Hormones June 6, 2012

Three words today – or rather, three letters: P.M.S. (or P.M.T. for some of you.)

After having a complete and utter meltdown over a missing phone headset yesterday, the ONLY thing that could restore me to a dignified human being was a bag of sweet potato fries and a can of lemon soda. Salt, sugar, and carbs. That, plus sending myself to bed early, like a cranky toddler.

It’s amazing the power of hormones. They can reduce an otherwise rational, level-headed woman to a blubbering illogical mess, and they can prevent a healthy young woman from producing viable, fertilizable  eggs.

It is Wednesday today, and I am SO whining about this today.

 

17 Responses to “Whiny Wednesday: [Bleep]ing Hormones”

  1. I hear ya, well.. I just have crazy hormones in general. 😉

  2. Kathleen Says:

    And FAT, don’t forget the fat. Studies have proven that it is the combination of fat and sugar that we really crave when stressed or depressed. – Doughnuts, Ice cream, Malomars, yada, yada. Now I am hungry 🙂

  3. Jennifer Says:

    SO with you (well, a week ahead of you, but similarly impressive meltdown)! Thank you for really helping me feel not alone in my “am I nuts or hormonal?” state of mind…

  4. RobinJD Says:

    It would take far too much space for me to whine everything I need to whine about. Here’s the short version: Husband hit by red light runner, paid-for truck totaled (husband okay); next day, my close friend dies (a friend who has assigned me the task of organizing her memorial service); then I have two flat rear tires. I miss five full days of work, dealing with car and medical insurance, trying to get tires and trying to organize a memorial service for more than 700 people. During that week, I begin to flood. I wake up last Thursday at 3 a.m. to a scene straight out of “Carrie.” Go immediately to the doctor only to hear that there are cysts on both ovaries and that I need a biopsy of my endometrium and I also, as a nice little bonus, have the beginnings of a small fibroid and need to be put on birth control pills. The OB/GYN, who I quit seeing three years ago after I was told by a different doc, “You’d have more luck and more fun spending a night at the Ritz in Paris than spending the same amount of money on IVF,” tells me I need NovaSure and that even if the golden egg does exist in there, I won’t be able to put it to use because the ablation will render me sterile. So there you have it. This is the short version, but I have a shitload to whine about. Oh, and night before last, I come home to find my husband has chopped my hibiscus bush down to the ground. It’s not the time of the year to prune, and there are loads of other chores he was asked to do, but he chose to do this. A cruel trick that left me a big crying mess. And I’m behind at work. Whine, whine, whine, whine.

    • Robin. My whine is pretty pathetic after this. I’m so sorry you’re going through all this. Sending good thoughts your way.

    • Kathleen Says:

      I personally am sending you ice cream and doughnuts. 🙂 SO sorry for your . . . . woes. If it’s any help at all, I once actively tried to KILL a hibiscus that was too close to the side walk, by cutting it down to the ground. And I dont know what or when pruning is. The next year it was fully restored and had TONS more flowers on it (to my surprise). Blessings.

  5. jennifer n Says:

    so with you on this one. I’m in the midst of trying not to eat potato chips and donuts. and it’s making me extra cranky.

  6. Maria Says:

    Whenever I feel this way, I check the calendar, alert my husband not to take offense at whatever I may do, and take a couple Don Quai before I look at food. The Don Quai really helps calm my hormones so I don’t crave all the bad food, and alcohol, let’s not forget the alcohol! You should try it. Black Cohosh also helps.

  7. Angela Says:

    Oddly, I tend to have a small touch of PMS-type symptoms when I’m ovulating, which is even worse than a cruel joke. Stupid reproductive organs, they just don’t know when to stop effing with me. I’ve been kinda cranky but mainly it’s the cravings that I’m fighting so hard! Yesterday I gave in and stopped at Wendy’s for a chicken sandwich and fries…..mmm…..and my husband bought some Ben & Jerry’s Cheesecake Brownie ice cream and it’s screaming at me from the freezer! I’m so trying to be good. But on top of that I’m having a painful cyst on my right ovary, this happens frequently when I’m ovulating and it’s always the right side. I also had an ectopic pregnancy in the right tube, so I guess that’s just the bad side! I don’t even do anything about them anymore, other than taking some Chinese herbs called U-O Clear, that helps to keep the repro system flushed out and prevents the cysts. I need to get some of that….

  8. Kellie Says:

    I tried to give up whining for a couple of weeks….but I am back! My whine….HOT FLASHES at 43 years old. As I am writing this, I am slowly ripping my clothes off – and it’s 72 degrees in the office. I work with all men (30 somethings) and all they see is this flushed face woman, fanning herself one minute and putting her jacket on the next. I wake up constantly throughout the night…covers off, covers on, fan on, fan off, etc….

    My RE says I need to be on HRT as I can start developing heart problems; then I read that HRT can cause breast cancer….and I am especially at higher risk for that as I have NEVER had children. What am I suppose to do? The Estrogen she originally prescribed me is the exact same as what I was on when doing the donor cycle. I don’t want to put anymore shit into my system, but I can’t stand this anymore. The natural stuff just hasn’t worked for me.

  9. loribeth Says:

    (((HUGS))) to Robin!

    Angela, I too tend to experience a lot of discomfort at midcycle, although some months are better or worse than others. This month was a doozy — just went through a couple of days of cramping, bloating, lower backache & heartburn. I was beginning to wonder if something was seriously wrong with me, but I checked the calendar & realized I was right on schedule — & then suddenly, yesterday afternoon, I turned the corner & started feeling a whole lot better. WTF??! I keep thinking menopause can’t be much worse tha the peri phase. :p

  10. Angela Says:

    Just returned from a weekend in Las Vegas to find multiple emails about a surprise baby shower at work. Ugh! Then found out that a newly wed co-worker is expecting his first child. My day was saved, though, when I crossed paths with three therapy dogs. Now, where to hide during the baby shower?….

  11. Wolfers Says:

    Two more co-workers announcing expecting their babies…and one other co-worker, I’m eyeing her- she DOES look pregnant, but she is staying mum. I’m very tempted to quit where I’m at- I’m getting tired of baby announcements and baby showers- I mean, we didn’t have any of THAT last year or the year before, so why this year after the surgery?!
    Pass on ice cream, some wine and chocolate chip brownies warm out of the oven…please.

  12. Mali Says:

    I’ll join in on the hormonal whines (or more accurately, whining about hormones). We had a long (3 day) weekend here, and it should have been fun. Instead I had a melt-down about something I really shouldn’t have had a melt-down over, and spent half the day on Saturday crying or feeling like crying. Also much of Monday. Was feeling very woe is me. Then yesterday – hints that AF is about to arrive. Typical! And I’m with Loribeth – I can’t imagine how menopause will be worse than these surging/plummeting hormones/emotions.

  13. Ohhh, I feel your pain sistah! The other day I ate an entire box of Cap’n Crunch in one night, AND cried during a re-run of Sabrina the Teenage Witch. I’d take a kick in the balls to this madness any day!

  14. mina Says:

    can I whine about yesterday? There is a lot going on at work, a huge conference to organize for monday and tuesday, which is nice in a way, it’s a very concrete task which will result in a nice event. But I am just soooooooo sick of arrogant people. While I am working hard to organize everything from vegan meals to headseats for translators all i get is men (!) dumping tasks on me they could very well do themselves (no I am not their f…ing secretary!), men going aggressive on me via email because i want things to work the way we agreed upon and not the the way one person wants it to be, people telling me how to do my job which I’ve done successfully for seven years now and people making demands on me while it becomes clear that they don’t have an effing clue what they’re talking about. Work sucks.

  15. Lois Says:

    I went through temporary menopause a few years back getting lupron treatment for endo. I Will Never Do That Again. The treatment was not worth the side effects. Sorry I listened to the doctor. Anyway, I am definitely not looking forward to the real deal down the road since I know what it will be like.


Leave a comment