Life Without Baby

Filling the silence in the motherhood discussion

Marilyn Monroe March 29, 2011

So many words come to mind when we think of Marilyn – bombshell, icon, tragic, to name but a few. Her image is universally recognizable, and almost half a century after her death, she remains an enigma. Above all, though, Marilyn Monroe was a star. She understood fame, even if she didn’t always like it, and she understood that her image was everything. She played the dumb blonde to perfection, but beneath that veneer, she was far from innocent or ignorant. You only have to read some of her whip-smart quotes to see that.

I have a special affinity for Marilyn that I’ve never been able to quite put my finger on. Her movies are among my guilty pleasures, with Some Like it Hot topping my list. There was something fragile and untouchable about her, and yet she had a strength and fortitude that I admire.

Marilyn was married three times, to James Dougherty, and more famously to Joe DiMaggio and then Arthur Miller. She never had children.

I wondered if she was childfree-by-choice, and how having children would have changed her life, her career, and her image. This was during an era when stars disappeared to quietly give birth and then reappeared on screen as stunning as ever. Motherhood and sexiness did not go hand-in-hand.

But in snooping around for this post, I discovered that Marilyn had suffered several miscarriages and at least two ectopic pregnancies that were terminated. For me, this information casts an entirely different light on the sadness I could always sense behind Marilyn’s eyes. Maybe that’s the unexplainable thing that has always drawn me to her.

Marilyn is one of my favorite Cheroes from this month, and she’s also responsible for the quote that stumped almost everyone in the Expressing Motherhood contest! Fortunately, Jennifer Segundo got it, and by virtue of being the ONLY correct answer, she is also the lucky winner! Thanks to everyone else for some great guesses.

 

6 Responses to “Marilyn Monroe”

  1. Sue Says:

    As soon as I saw this Chero posted my immediate first thought was “I wonder if that’s why she was so sad.” I had no idea and now her story is more heartbreaking to me.

    I’ve really enjoyed reading all of your Chero posts. Very enlightening.

  2. […] love, listens but doesn’t believe, and leaves before she is left.” Image courtesy of: http://www.lifewithoutbaby.wordpress.com/ Content: http://www.brainyquote.com, http://www.ellensplace.net, http://www.biography.com Marilyn Monroe’s […]

  3. king Says:

    i love yew marilyn

  4. […] and last year we celebrated by featuring profiles of some inspiring Cheroes (childfree heroes.) Marilyn Monroe, Mary Cassatt and Billie Jean King were among some of the famous favorites, but we also had […]

  5. […] This post was originally published on March 29, 2011. […]


Leave a comment