Life Without Baby

Filling the silence in the motherhood discussion

Whiny Wednesday: Small Annoyances December 5, 2012

Isn’t it amazing what the human spirit can endure? Every day the news is filled with stories of triumph over adversity. Even among ourselves, we’ve been through a lot and yet we’re making our way through it, and we’ll come out the other side intact.

And yet sometimes I think it’s the small annoyances that are going to kill me: The incorrect bill that takes an hour-long phone call to rectify; the imperceptible leak in the water cooler that slowly floods the kitchen; the cell phone/computer/car that stops working for no good reason, then suddenly decides to work again after you’ve already missed the call/deadline/appointment you were supposed to make.

In the big scheme of things, these inconveniences are nothing. They’ll be gone and forgotten in no time and won’t make much difference to the overall scheme of my life. But when they back up one behind the other, I swear it’s enough to raise my blood pressure to dangerous levels.

Luckily, we have Whiny Wednesday, our weekly release valve for all that’s wrong in our worlds. My whines are many but minor this week. How about yours?

 

6 Responses to “Whiny Wednesday: Small Annoyances”

  1. Gail K Says:

    I’ve been quietly sitting back and reading over the last few weeks and decided to go ahead and add my two cents.
    My whine for Wednesday is technology related. When it works, everything is great, but when it doesn’t work, watch out! Phone calls to tech service people in other countries and time spent with manuals and online help forums just really zap my energy.

    • Maria Says:

      Welcome! I was a lurker for a long time too. Participating in the discussions has been really helpful to my healing. Hope it is for you too.

  2. CitySnacks Says:

    Wow… Whiny Wednesday! Perfect! My big whine right now is the micromanaging and bossy coworker! Drives me nuts!

  3. Shelley Says:

    Dangerous drivers who don’t care how much stress and fear they cause other drivers.

  4. Robin Says:

    I’ve been waiting since the weekend for Whiny Wed. I’m so mad and just plain heartbroken for that little 3month old of the Kansas city Chief football player who took his own babies’ mother AND father away in a murder/suicide. I know I’d feel the same if I weren’t struggling to have children of my own but given where I currently am and how so many struggle with infertility this story especially hit a nerve this weekend with me. I just needed to get that off my chest.

  5. […] Whiny Wednesday: Small Annoyances (lifewithoutbaby.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

