Life Without Baby

Filling the silence in the motherhood discussion

It Got My Thinking..About My Miraculous Body July 10, 2012

By Kathleen Guthrie Woods

Late last week I gave myself a nasty paper cut, one I didn’t fully appreciate until I tried out a new salt scrub. Sweet mother of god! I’ve had spinal taps that were less painful!

I was certain I’d be nursing my grievous wound for weeks, so was pleasantly surprised when the band-aid fell off in the shower yesterday morning, revealing a perfectly healed finger. Amazing!

There was a time when I thought the only miracle my body was capable of, was worthy of, was creating, carrying, birthing, and nurturing a child. Now that that ship has sailed, I’ve become more aware of the miracles it performs every day. It swims, it runs, it carries 60 lb. dogs and bags of groceries up stairs. It breathes, it whistles, it sings! It turns brown in the sun, it blushes at the slightest flirtation, it gets splotchy when it cries, whether in sorrow or joy.

Many of us have felt that our bodies have betrayed us, and we’ve beaten ourselves up for what our bodies couldn’t or wouldn’t do. With full acceptance of my path on the horizon, today I choose to celebrate, with gentleness and gratitude, this miracle that is my body. It’s the least I can do after all it’s done for me.

Kathleen Guthrie Woods is a Northern California–based freelance writer. She’s mostly at peace with her decision to be childfree.

 

3 Responses to “It Got My Thinking..About My Miraculous Body”

  1. Unfortunately, a body can turn on you in other ways. I’m living with/struggling with what is beginning to look like permanent disability. And it was directly caused by trusting doctors and their toxins that they call “pharmaceuticals.” Prescription drugs are not nearly as well-researched as we have been led to believe.

    Still, my body does heal from cuts and bruises. My digestive system works. I can utilize herbs and supplements to treat almost everything and my immune system functions fairly well so that i rarely get a cold.

    Our bodies ARE amazing. I just feel i have to speak up so that others don’t end up disabled because they trusted a doctor.

  2. CiCi Says:

    What a great way to look at things Kathleen! I’m beginning to appreciate my body more these days too. I hated it for so long and it’s time for me to move past that and see it for all it does on a daily basis. Although, my weight loss battle has been ridiculous…it’s me who needs to fight harder to be better to my body. I’ve neglected it for far too long. This was a nice post and a good reminder for me, thanks!

  3. IrisD Says:

    Thanks for this positive post. I needed to be reminded.


Leave a Reply

