Life Without Baby

Filling the silence in the motherhood discussion

Three Things to Love About You January 20, 2012

Filed under: Fun Stuff,The Childfree Life: Issues and Attitudes — Life Without Baby @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

“What are three things you love about yourself?”

A friend asked me this recently, and I was shocked to find myself stumbling over my answer. I couldn’t even name one thing.

I think many us (especially we women) were raised to be modest, not boastful. We often have no problem telling someone else what we admire in them, but can’t then turn the spotlight on ourselves. And even when we do, we can so often point out all the areas for improvement rather than the good things we see in ourselves.

Fortunately for me, my friend is persistent, and she wouldn’t let me off the hook. So here are three things I love about myself:

      1. I’m honest.
      2. I will always stick up for the underdog.
      3. I am not a quitter.

So I challenge you now. What are three things you love about yourself?

 

8 Responses to “Three Things to Love About You”

  1. Lee Cockrum Says:

    I am generous, I love to help people, I am creatively talented (bead jewelry, scrap booking, card making, seeing, knitting etc. )

    Good thing to think about, I find it hard to “brag” about myself.

  2. Amel Says:

    I’m good at planning, good at budgeting, and I’m a deep thinker (it helps me find out and recognize my feelings and what are causing them and thus in turn it helps me heal and move on or find out what things I should change).

  3. monka Says:

    I am strong, sensitive, and intelligent. I’m also a great singer/actor. I worry that my strengths sometimes create shadows in my life where balance should be.

  4. Illanare Says:

    I am generous, kind and forgiving. That was hard to write, though, because I tend to focus on the negative, rather than the positive, sides of my character

  5. Kellie Says:

    Wow…..this is really hard to answer. After giving it a bit too much time to come up with an answer here is what I’ve got….I am strong, I am honest, and I am loving. Phew….my brain hurts after that one!

  6. Rerah Says:

    Now that I think about it, I am intelligent, a good friend, and an excellent trip planner. Why is it so hard to admit to our strengths? If you asked me what I would like to change about myself, it would be easy–the list would go on and on. Why don’t we begin each day with three positive thoughts about ourselves instead?

  7. Mali Says:

    This was REALLY hard to do. I have self-censored so many thoughts already. I am

    intelligent
    sensitive to the opposite point of view (even if I don’t agree with it)
    able to filter down a problem to its core essence.

    And like Rerah, a great travel planner for myself and others!!

  8. Jen Says:

    It took me about a bit as well, here you go…what are three things I love about myself: I am faithful, determined and loving. I agree I like these much better than all the negatives one I could have come up with.


Leave a Reply

