Life Without Baby

Filling the silence in the motherhood discussion

A Blog Post About Nothing June 10, 2011

Filed under: Cheroes,Fun Stuff — Life Without Baby @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , ,

They say that when you don’t have anything good to say, say nothing at all. Well, I can’t do that, can I?

For today’s post I intended to reignite the Cheroes series with some new gems I’ve found, but it’s been a long week and I’ve run out of energy, so instead I thought I’d leave you with a short verse from one of my favorite Cheroes*, Pulitzer Prize winning poet, Edna St. Vincent Millay.

This poem sums up exactly how I feel about my life right now. More about that later though.

Second Fig

Safe upon the solid rock the ugly houses stand:

Come and see my shining palace built upon the sand!

* In case you missed the National Women’s History Month series, a Chero is a childless/childfree hero.

 

2 Responses to “A Blog Post About Nothing”

  1. IrisD Says:

    I loved the poem!! I I also read about another feisty Cheroe, Marjory Stoneman Douglas, who worked tirelessly to save the Everglades. She was featured in a book by Susan S. Lang titled Women without Children. It is very much worth at least looking at those pages of the book which covered her story.

  2. Lynn Says:

    Great, great poem… can totally identify.


Leave a Reply

