Life Without Baby

Filling the silence in the motherhood discussion

Taking Care of Myself October 30, 2010

I’ve been sick this week. Not sick enough to fully take to my bed, but sick enough to cancel appointments, push non-urgent work projects to another day, and crash down for a deep, drooling sleep in the afternoon.

I have the luxury of doing that.

I have the flexibility to adjust my work schedule. I have the luxury of a quiet house. I live with people who can fend for themselves if I’m not up to cooking. And I can allow myself the time to take care of myself. If I had kids, it would be a different story. While my head was pounding on Tuesday, I tried to imagine the noise of a two-year-old added to the mix. While I was sipping herbal tea under a blanket, my friend with two boys in preschool, would have been up, feeding, entertaining, changing diapers, etc.

Being sick is not how I choose to spend my life, but if it has to happen, it’s a lot easier to manage without kids.

 

One Response to “Taking Care of Myself”

  1. Mali Says:

    I totally agree. And it’s okay to lie under our blankets sipping herbal tea, and acknowledge that.

    I hope you’re feeling better.


Leave a Reply

